Menubyvicky: On the go egg muffins


These are an amazing way to get protein in the morning and avoid the dreadful carb trap of grains from cereals, oatmeals, and breads.

menubyvicky

The other day, a friend asked me about on the go breakfast ideas. She was looking for something that was healthy, portable, lower carb and most importantly could be made ahead of time. My favorite standby is oatmeal but that doesn’t work if you’re trying to go for a low carb breakfast. I did a quick search and came across a recipe for egg muffins. These remind me of mini frittatas. Yum! I think my favorite thing about this recipe is that it uses items that most of us already have in our kitchens. Plus they’re healthy, high in protein and easily transportable in a sandwich bag or plastic container. Works for me, as most of you know that I’m not much of a morning person on the best of days.

For my egg muffins, I used a southwest seasoning blend, salsa, green onions, chicken bacon and a bit of…

View original post 394 more words

Leave a Reply

