This sounds amazing and with only two table spoons of flour, it’s pretty low on the grainy carb’s scale. I would also substitute Greek yogurt (unflavoured) for the sour cream (more protein, less cream). I will have to give it a try.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

I was never a big fan of Popeye. I could never understand the guy, he seemed to make bad decisions and for the most part he was pushed around. He was in love with Olive, who compared to the other cartoon love interests, was rather homely. He was entirely uninteresting until he had his spinach. Then he could take on the world.

Who thought of this? Elzie Crisler Segar. In 1929 he created the character in a comic strip and in the first four years of publication, spinach sales increased 33%. The idea is spinach became more palatable both to kids and their parents, as they saw Popeye eat it, so they bought more and more. Really? When I was a kid, spinach was a soggy, bitter mop. I couldn’t stand it and Bugs Bunny, Goofy and Superman combined couldn’t get me to like it more.

Only as an adult have I come…

View original post 385 more words

Leave a Reply

